Cheap and easy pasta salad

Last night I had a wonderful time getting together with my college friends.  It doesn’t happen as often as it should- some are off in different cities but mostly it doesn’t happen just because we’re all going down different paths and are so busy.  It was incredible to get together though- I left feeling happier than I’ve felt in so long and today I already miss them again!

We had a BBQ and I brought my pasta salad, which has been well received before.  It’s very simple and easy so I figured I’d share:

1 box of bowtie pasta (bonus cheapness if you get it on sale!)

3-4 peppers: I did 2 green, one red and one yellow (bonus if you get them at a farmer’s market!)

1 container of cherry tomatoes

1 small jar of pesto- Classico is the best tasting cheap pesto and the small jar is the perfect size for this recipe

– Put pasta on to boil and set a timer for 1.5 minute less than the recommended al dente time

– Cut up peppers into small chunks- around a 1/2 in x 1/2 in

– Cut cherry tomatoes in halves

– When the pasta is about 1-1.5 minutes from being done, throw in your chopped up peppers.  Don’t worry- it won’t get rid of all of the crunch, it just softens them up some.

– Boil 1 minute longer and then drain.  Toss under cold water until pasta and peppers are room temp

– Put pasta and peppers back into pot and mix with cherry tomatoes and one small jar of pesto (feel free to add more if you like it pesto-heavy).

Let the flavors meld and you’re ready to go in a few hours!

Note: tastes better when shared with friends 🙂

About BuzzwithLove

Buzzwithlove was something I had talked about with a good friend- how there are just some people in the world who just exude energy, happiness, and love. That's how I hope to live my life- and share little bits of it online!
This entry was posted in The recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

