Smile

There are lots of quotes around about smiling that I’ve never verified scientifically- “It takes more muscles to frown than to smile”, “smiling will automatically put you in a better mood”, etc.  And I’m not sure as to the validity of them, but I do know that lately it’s been harder to smile.  Aside from working long hours, it’s really bothered me that I haven’t been able to get home to spend some time with my family.  I’ve called every day to check in on how my Nana is doing, but that didn’t stop me from getting frustrated that I wasn’t there.

I came home last night because I’m on call tonight (and therefore don’t need to be at the hospital during the day).  I came home, ate dinner with my dad and brother and then went out to see Nana.  She is really, really sick.  It was very difficult to see her so ill- it made me so sad, but she still managed to make me laugh a few times during my visit.

Which made me start thinking again about earlier.  Nana has ALWAYS loved to laugh and doesn’t mind being the butt of the joke so long as it’s funny.  She also has always hated taking pictures, so the one below is the merging of those two characteristics.  The story behind it is that we were on Martha’s Vineyard for my cousin’s wedding and we were at the carousel with all the kids.  While we were waiting, I was snapping pictures of everyone.  Nana quickly grabbed my uncle’s motorcycle helmet and put it on my brother, then took the goggles and put them on herself.  I love this picture because it’s so much of who Nana is- goofy and loveable.

I love you Nana Banana.

About BuzzwithLove

Buzzwithlove was something I had talked about with a good friend- how there are just some people in the world who just exude energy, happiness, and love. That's how I hope to live my life- and share little bits of it online!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

