A picture is worth a 1000 dreams

 

 

One picture, 1000 dreams.  This is a picture of one of the fields at my grandparents’ farm.  In the 1970s, my grandfather Papa had begun to read about being environmentally friendly and he took to heart the message that resources are limited and shouldn’t be squandered.  Papa purchased “the farm” (or “out there” as people often say) as empty fields and some wooded land from a farmer who was selling part of his property.  Back then, Papa was revolutionary in what he did next- Papa worked on building a self sustainable house.  He put up a windmill, built a house with a wood stove in the center with heat circulating abilities, put up a green room and added solar panels to the modest and environmentally friendly house he built.

The property is gorgeous- there are 7 fields lined by old stone walls, two ponds, and then wooded acres.  At various points throughout the years, there were cows and horses that grazed in the fields and there are funny stories about geese chasing the priest up the driveway to the house.  There have been countless dogs and cats and some chickens too.  The barnyard days may have come and gone, but at all points in time there have been children at the farm.  My Papa and Nana raised 6 children out there- with countless cousins, aunts, uncles, and friends coming and going.  Before their youngest two were out of the house, there was me- the start of the next generation.  At no point have there not been kids running rampant over the place, and that’s part of what I love about it.  It’s so idyllic- the kids can run around outside, feel like explorers going on nature walks, and then come into the comfortable house and find so many loving adults ready to help them with any boo boo or scrape they may get.

The whole package is what does it for me.  There are so many memories of “out there” as my family fondly calls the property- Christmas parties when I was young, playing pickup basketball in the driveway with my uncles, easter egg hunts for my little cousins, long walks in the woods just me and my Dad (or now just me and my dog).  The property literally just buzzes with love and serenity.

I’ve attached just one picture of the farm (although I could show millions because I love all of its features).  This is the entrance to the field behind the house.  You can see the windmill (it lost an arm a few years ago) and the hay that’s nicely rolled.  I took it this past weekend when I was down doing yard work at the farm and it just captures what I want so badly- I want to buy the farm.  I can see myself raising a family there, on a property so full of love already.  I’d love to be able to continue the traditions of the holidays, of always having an open door for whoever needs it, and for being environmentally conscious.  The trouble is all in the timing…I won’t be able to afford this property (or one like it) for quite some time.  And who knows- by the time I may be able to buy it, Papa may have sold it and moved to a smaller place.  So for now, it’s on my vision board.  It’s a reminder of what will be some day.  It reminds me daily to live simply and live on as little loan money as possible (the sooner I pay it off, the sooner I can have the freedom to find a place like it!).  But even more, it’s a constant reminder that a house is just a structure- it took all the love, generosity and zest for life of my grandparents and family to make the farm what is to me.  So even if someday I don’t have the farm, I can still have a place “out there”.

About BuzzwithLove

Buzzwithlove was something I had talked about with a good friend- how there are just some people in the world who just exude energy, happiness, and love. That's how I hope to live my life- and share little bits of it online!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

