Giving is receiving

Yesterday, the other students at my family med site and I went to the Barre Food Bank to help out with their monthly food pantry.  The people who volunteer with this group are amazing- many were older and were surprisingly strong!  (I guess it’s the cleaner air and locally grown food up in Barre.)  There were a ton of people who came in for food and really highlighted the need for giving. The food was all donated including eggs and produce from some of the local farms, and it reminded me to always keep my eye open at the grocery store for good deals on things I can donate.

It was an amazingly satisfying morning.  I think giving food to others fulfills one of the most basic ways of caring for others- just like how good it feels to have friends over and feed them a nice dinner.  The people who came by to pick up food repeatedly said how much of a difference the food would make in stretching their budget, and each of them ended our converasation with thanks and a “Merry Christmas!”

I think of everything I’ve done during the holiday season, THAT gave me the best Christmas spirit of all.  Want to join in the fun?  The Global Food Banking Network has a list of some of the bigger food banks in MA (seen here), but talk local…many churches and social organizations have their own smaller food banks that may need your help more.  And if time is short, there’s always a need for HEALTHYfoods that you can pick up next time you’re at the store.

Merry Christmas!

(pictures are fairly low quality because they’re from my cell phone)

Each family walked away with their own selection of items and then one or two bags (depending on family size) of a variety of foods that help make up a balanced diet. And a SEVENTH grader has started her own project to collect donated pet food. Those cans and bags of pet food went fast- I hadn't even thought about how hard it is for some people to feed their pets!

 

Aren't these eggs pretty? I think I'd only seen store bought eggs before, I didn't realize how different they could look!

 

Some of the produce that was donated by local farms included broccoli, lots of fingerling potatoes, garlic, and those massive Blue Hubbard squash seen below the table. I'd like to try one- everyone said they're delicious baked at 350 for an hour or so and then sprinkled with brown sugar. Yum!

About BuzzwithLove

Buzzwithlove was something I had talked about with a good friend- how there are just some people in the world who just exude energy, happiness, and love. That's how I hope to live my life- and share little bits of it online!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Giving is receiving

  1. Kate Lamie says:

    Wonderful! I just picked up my toys for Toys for Tots. Glad to see you are enjoying the holidays =)

Leave a Reply

