Staycation

As much as I can’t stand the word staycation, I’m really glad that I used my spring break to spend time at home with my family.  It’s been a wonderfully relaxing week and I got a chance to do a lot of things I’ve been meaning to.  Here are some (iPhone) pictures of what I did this week…

 

Spring skiing

This past weekend marked the end of another successful ski season.  We went up intending to stay and ski a few days but within two hours we changed our minds.  The weather was gorgeous (we were sweating wearing our light ski coats) and the mountain wasn’t crowded, but the snow was so heavy that our legs were spent within two hours of hitting the slopes.  What a good year though- I think we got in 10-11 days total, which is great considering the mild winter we had.

Pizza at Quincy Market

The day after skiing, we went to the Boston Science Museum!  I haven’t been there in quite a while and I was happy to see some of the same exhibits (the lightening exhibit with the large van de graaff generators, for example) and some interesting new ones.  I think my favorite was the exhibit on renewable energy sources- it’s already got me brainstorming for the time when I’ll have a house that I can put solar panels on!

The receptionist at Anchor Animal Hospital

Like I posted about earlier, Piper has newly been diagnosed with hypothyroidism.  I’m happy I had the week off to take her to her vet, Anchor Animal Hospital in Dartmouth, MA.  They are truly wonderful- all the staff and doctors are friendly, smart and really love the animals that come in.  I also think it’s great they bring their own pets to work- this is one of the younger vet’s dog who sits in the receptionist area.  Isn’t he gorgeous?

 

 

After talking about it for years, Dan and I finally went to Newport to do the cliff walk.  It’s a gorgeous 3.5 mile stretch along the water in Newport where on one side you have beautiful cliffs and on the other you have massive mansions.  We chose not to go inside any of the mansions, but lots of them have tours for a fee.  If you’re interested, check them out at http://www.newportmansions.org/ .  Anyway, the weather was very foggy, but the walk was still great.  The one thing we regretted is not bringing our running sneakers!  At this time of year, the walk wasn’t too crowded so it would have been perfect for running.

After the walk, we stopped for lunch at the Peaceable Market in Newport.  If you’re in the area, I’d definitely recommend getting lunch there.  Two sandwiches and a Nantucket Nectar were only $13- which is pretty great considering how expensive Newport can be.  Both of us were totally satisfied with the sandwiches- very tasty!

As for the rest of the week, I’ve been hanging out with my parents, reading, doing a little derm research, and speaking to the health classes at my old high school about sun education.  It’s amazing- the school smells the same, looks the same, and so much of the faculty who taught me (and then who taught with me) are still there.  One of the neatest things was seeing some of the students I taught when they were freshman.  They’re seniors now and boy did they get big!  They were telling me where they were heading of to college and I swelled up with pride- granted I only taught them science for one year, but I’m proud of them none the less!

As for this weekend, I’ll be filling it with the little things I haven’t had a chance to do- grocery shopping, sanding down our deck furniture some more, taking Piper for some nice walks, and watching a few chick flicks.  Have a nice weekend!

 

