A lovely wedding

Even though I don’t see her often, LT (now LF) is one of my favorite people.  She and I lived together our sophomore year of college randomly, and I’m so glad it worked out.  LT is one of the warmest, kindest people I know.  She gives the world’s best hugs and always wants to know how your life is.  In the year we were roommates, I went through my first big break up, she dealt with huge feuds at the student newspaper she was editor of, and we both were getting used to a school we didn’t feel like we quite fit in at.  It was a heck of a year of growing for us, and I’m so thankful I had our little oasis of a dorm room to go back to at the end of the day. LT is awesomely creative and frugal- our room was so well decorated and not dorm like.  She brought in bookshelves, a comfy armchair, wall decorations and nice lamps.  To top off the homey feeling, LT had a homemade quilt on her bed.   After getting my butt kicked by my MWF classes (Physics at 9, Orgo at 10, Molecular Bio at 11) it felt so nice to go back to our little spot.  We weren’t often there together- she was super busy with the honors program and the student newspaper and I was carrying 28 credits and was always in class- but when we were there together, it felt like a home away from home.

Anyways, I digress.  I started this post because my wonderful friend got married on Saturday.  I’ve been so heavily anticipating her wedding because I knew it would be perfect- understated, beautiful and simple.  And it totally was.  From the invitiation (a postcard with a cute picture of them) to the wedding website to the day itself, LT and JF really made the wedding about being together and being with their family- not about who could throw the fanciest bash.

It was so well done, and just so LT.  I loved the reception and here are a few pictures I managed to snag:

The wedding was held at the Portland Company- an old building just outside the center of Portland, ME. It was an afternoon reception- the ceremony and the reception were held in the same space, separated by a homemade fabric room divider.

The ceremony was really great- they did standard vows and then wrote their own!

Look at that dress! It's so pretty and I automatically assumed vintage. Turns out that her sister in law made it. Talk about skill!

The veue was really open (homemade divider in the background). I liked that they left the whole center of the room open- it was packed with people dancing not long after this shot! There were really big windows all around the room with one side facing out to the water. I loved that there were little kids running all around and blowing bubbles- so cute!

Sorry for the poor quality! I took some pictures on the camera and then the battery died so the crummy ones are from my phone. They didn't have a sit down dinner, but there were tables with appetizers- cheese and crackers, veggies and dip, spring rolls, sushi, and lots of cookies and homemade pies. They also had bubbles, which the kids loved. I really liked the rustic touches of the worn wood box, glass bottles, and simple flowers.

I'm pretty sure LT made these...I'll have to ask her how at some point. At any rate, they were pretty cool decorations and really fit with the venue.

And who wouldn't want to see the cake? I never figured out who made it, but let me tell you...it was a good carrot cake. Like, incredibly good...like "my boyfriend who says he doesn't really like carrot cake didn't want to share his piece" good.

Anyway, the bottom line is it was a beautiful ceremony.  LTF, I wish you all the happiness in the world!

About BuzzwithLove

Buzzwithlove was something I had talked about with a good friend- how there are just some people in the world who just exude energy, happiness, and love. That's how I hope to live my life- and share little bits of it online!
This entry was posted in The do-it-yourself, The time well spent. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

