STEP 2 CK

Once again, I’m in heavy study mode.  In exactly 10 days, I take my USMLE Step 2 CK (clinical knowledge) exam.  In order to be licensed as a physician, you need to take a series of exams.  The first exam, (cleverly called Step 1), is taken at the end of the 2nd year of medical school and is used by residency programs to determine if they’ll offer an interview.  In that way, Step 1 is a lot like the SATs or the MCATs.  Step 2 is all clinical knowledge- questions ask things like “if a person comes in with pancreatitis, which labs will you order?”.  The Step 2 exam isn’t as important for interview selection for residencies, but they look at it when determining who they’ll offer spots to.  And lastly, Step 3 is taken during intern year (aka, I’m not worrying about it now).

So there you have it…another big exam to help determine where I’ll be in the long run.  I have to say, it’s much less stressful than step 1 because so much of the information is clinical and I’ve seen it in practice this past year.  Nonetheless, I’ll be keeping my nose to the grindstone for another 10 days.  I’ll try and check in occasionally, but no promises!

About BuzzwithLove

Buzzwithlove was something I had talked about with a good friend- how there are just some people in the world who just exude energy, happiness, and love. That's how I hope to live my life- and share little bits of it online!
This entry was posted in The med student. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

