Seattle series: getting outside

This is my third post in a series about Seattle.  You can read my first post that I wrote in Seattle here and about Pike Place Market here.

I’m somewhat ashamed of how little I did outdoors in Seattle as it’s an incredible city for active people.  Here are a few of the things I did manage to do :

The Burke Gilman trail is a well maintained, popular bike and running trail that curls along the waterfront and the University of Washington area of Seattle. One point of access was 3 blocks from my apartment, so it was nice to be able to head out there to walk or run.

The Coal Creek trails are in Seattle rigth next to a busy road and you’d never know they were there. The hike was beautiful- everything was super verdant and sheltered from the sun (which naturally, I loved). Picture from seattlebackpackersmagazine.com.

Our trip at Coal Creek was cut short when Dan and I turned a corner and ran into THIS! Okay, not quite…we ran into one adolescent bear on the trail, but that was enough. We scared the poor thing and he ran up off the trail but we turned and hightailed it…because we all know, where there’s a cub, there’s a mama. (Picture from acapella.harmony-central.com because I was NOT dumb enough to take out a camera. I was getting the heck out!)

We also went hiking on Whidbey Island, but that’s for another post.

And a few things I didn’t get to do that I wish I had:

– I wish I had rented a bicycle.  The city is covered in bike trails and it’s a hugely popular activity.  It would have been fun to do.

– I wish I had rented a kayak at Agua Verde Canoe and Paddle Club.  Dan and I went to the restaurant (Agua Verde) where he had possibly the worst service ever but pretty good food.  We saw the kayak rentals, but they were a little to expensive and we got there too late.  Still, it would have been neat to cruise around on the water and see the houseboats.

About BuzzwithLove

Buzzwithlove was something I had talked about with a good friend- how there are just some people in the world who just exude energy, happiness, and love. That's how I hope to live my life- and share little bits of it online!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment